Global Invasive Species Database 100 of the worst Donations home
Standard Search Standard Search Taxonomic Search   Index Search

   Apis mellifera scutellata (昆蟲)  English 
生態 分佈 管理 影響 參考資料 聯繫


      Apis mellifera scutellata (Photo: Scott Bauer, USDA ARS, www.insectimages.org) - Click for full size
    學名: Apis mellifera scutellata (Lepeletier)
    同種異名:
    俗名: Africanized honeybee (English), Brazilian bee (English), killer bee (English)
    生物類型: 昆蟲
    1957年Warwick Kerr把東非蜂(Apis mellifera scutellata)從非洲帶到南美洲 ,以幫助恢復衰落中的巴西養蜂業,巴西養蜂業是用歐洲蜂各亞種,不適合於南美的環境。數個蜂后和工蜂族群被意外釋放到野外,這些富於攻擊性的蜜蜂與當地蜜蜂族群雜交。東非蜂(Apis mellifera scutellata)逐漸蔓延之後,由於雜交蜜蜂較具攻擊性行為,造成經濟,社會和生態問題。
    物種描述
    和蜜蜂(Apis mellifera)相比,東非蜂(Apis mellifera scutellata)最顯著的地方,是他們圍繞蜂巢、成群叮咬敵人的防守行為。東非蜂(Apis mellifera scutellata)也稍微小一些,但是這只能用顯微鏡確定。蜜蜂(Apis mellifera)比東非蜂(Apis mellifera scutellata)更能承受寒冷的溫度。歐洲蜜蜂一般一只能繁殖兩次或三次,東非蜂每年能繁殖高達 17次(Lantigua, 2008)。新形態的分析技術利用分析工蜂的前翅,很容易迅速精確地鑑別歐洲蜜蜂和東非蜂(Francoy 等人, 2008)。
    相似物種
    Apis mellifera

    More
    出現在:
    人造林, 天然林, 市區, 農業區, 雜草 /受干擾
    棲息地描述
    東非蜂(Apis mellifera scutellata)比蜜蜂(Apis mellifera)較無棲地選擇性。東非蜂(Apis mellifera scutellata)會出現在樹洞,腐爛木頭和許多人造結構,如木材和岩樁中。但侷限在熱帶和亞熱帶的棲息地,因為他們已經適應了旱季和雨季,不能適應溫帶地區的炎熱和寒冷季節。
    一般影響
    東非蜂(Apis mellifera scutellata)是具攻擊性的蜜蜂,防衛蜂巢時離巢50英尺叮咬入侵者,並追逐入侵者到一英里遠。他們會造成寵物,家畜,甚至人的死亡,因此有“殺人蜂”的綽號。人類和其他動物,通常只有在無法脫身的情況下才會被蜜蜂殺死。遭受東非蜂攻擊的受害者,通常會承受比歐洲蜂攻擊,多十倍以上的叮刺,東非蜂對干擾的反應比歐洲蜂快十倍(Ojar, 2002)。
    在此應該強調,他們主要的影響不是殺死歐洲蜂蜂后取代其族群,而是經由交配產生近交系的族群。這些自交系蜂群的攻擊性增加,能耐冬天低溫,更會頻繁地棄巢分群(Ojar, 2002)。東非蜂的棄巢率,比歐洲蜂高很多,已被記錄的棄巢率高達 10%。東非蜂比歐洲蜂投入在儲存蜜蜂的能量較少,它把更多的能量投入在生育。由於這些屬性,東非蜂不適用於養蜂業(Masterson, 2007)。
    養蜂業的勞動力成本提高,因為工人採收東非蜂的意願低,蜂巢又經常重新選后分群。值得關注的是,有些生態系統可能會處於危險之中,因為東非蜂會侵入領域,競逐本地授粉昆蟲。
    東非蜂最大的影響是對經濟和生態的影響。它們會和蜜蜂競爭影響養蜂業,使蜜蜂減少製造蜂蜜,殺死蜂蜜蜂后,取代其族群。東非蜂的授粉效果也比歐洲蜂差。東非蜂數量的增加,會使蜂蜜業(在美國每年 1.4億美元產值)處於風險之中,以及造成農作物和果園,普遍減少授粉(在美國每年估計損失 100億至140億美元以上)(Ojar, 2002; Masterson, 2007)。東非蜂的生態優勢,再加上其傳播速度很快(每年200英里),有可能使許多本土蜜蜂物種滅絕(Ojar, 2002)。
    公眾對蜜蜂和養蜂行業的偏見,造成不幸的結果,使媒體過度恐懼,一再攻擊東非蜂。這可能導致呼籲禁止在市區飼養蜜蜂,因而空出蜜蜂合適的棲地。東非蜂會填補這些空隙,並建立大量的族群,造成更多的問題。
    用途
    東非蜂(Apis mellifera scutellata)提供熱帶地區的授粉功能。一些農民認為,東非蜂有利於他們的莊稼,因為它們的授粉效果比歐洲蜂優越。在美國,由蜜蜂授粉的農作物估計每年產值100億美元(阿肯色州立植物委員會)。蜂群的健康情形可作為“開花植物生產力,生態系統穩定性和相對生態健康度“的指標(Ojar, 2002)。
    研究顯示,東非蜂可防止非洲大象損壞蜂巢附近的植被和樹木。東非蜂有可能被用來保護樹木以及特定的區域,以免遭受大象破壞(Vollrath等人, 2002)。進一步的研究顯示,播放野生東非蜂受干擾之後的聲音,會引起絕大多數的大象奔走或跑步來遠離噪音源(King等人2007)。
    Notes
    不同於歐洲蜂(Apis mellifera ),東非蜂(Apis mellifera scutellata)不囤積蜂蜜越冬。相反地,他們依靠蜂群流動(遷襲與分群),以尋找新的食物來源,水或空間。
    地理分佈
    原生地:東非蜂(Apis mellifera scutellata)原產於非洲東部和南部。
    已知引進地區:他們被引入巴西,並蔓延到南美洲各地,中美洲,亞利桑那州,加州,新墨西哥州,內華達州和德州。
    管理資訊
    為了防止東非蜂(Apis mellifera scutellata)與商業飼養的歐洲蜂(A. mellifera)雜交,人們在相關地區釋放大量歐洲蜂的雄蜂,減少東非蜂交配的可能性。也經常讓歐洲蜂分群重新產生蜂后,以確保其族群持續維持(Ojar, 2002)。另一個策略是把歐洲蜂的精子注入東非蜂的蜂后,產生較不具攻擊性的蜜蜂。許多國家試圖使用化學品和陷阱來摧毀蜜蜂族群,但是此策略效果不佳。
    應在東非蜂造成麻煩問題的地方,教育公眾使其瞭解如何報告蜂群的位置,並向有關當局報告移除(Ojar, 2002)。蜜蜂很容易用潤濕劑(表面活性劑)固定並殺死,包括餐具洗滌劑,以及無泡沫和泡沫化學消防藥劑(USDA-ARS, 2008)。蜜蜂一般都會立即被固定,一分鐘之內死亡。
    營養
    蜜蜂吃花蜜和花粉。花蜜轉化為蜂蜜,是蜜蜂的主要碳水化合物來源,而花粉是蛋白質來源。東非蜂往往依靠增加其族群率流動性(分群),來反應季節性食物供應波動。歐洲蜜蜂較能囤積大量的蜂蜜,而能在漫長而寒冷的冬天生存(Kurzmann)。
    繁殖
    蜂后與雄蜂交配創造受精卵,受精卵會成為一個雌性工蜂。蜂后也會生產未受精的卵,未受精的卵會成為雄蜂。卵如果(當幼蟲)如果被大量餵食特別營養的乳白色蜂漿,會變成蜂后,蜂漿是一種下咽和下頜腺分泌物的混合物。一隻蜂后每天可以生產 1500顆卵。分群比蜂后產卵對族群擴張更重要。增加蜂群需要經常分群,將繁殖和死亡都考慮在內,一個蜂群可能在一年後分成 17群。
    生命階段
    蜂后與雄蜂交配創造受精卵,會成為雌性工蜂。如果這些受精卵被工蜂餵食大量營養豐富乳白色的蜂漿,會成為蜂后,蜂漿是下嚥和下頜腺分泌物的混合物。蜂后也會生產未受精的卵子,這會成為雄蜂(Masterson, 2007)。
    一隻蜂后每天可以生產 1500顆卵。分群行為比蜂后產卵對族群擴張更重要。分群時會出現真正的交配行為,分群會季節性地地在族群之間同步發生,因此而增加了交配的可能性,並減少近親交配。蜂后能和多隻雄蜂交配,並能把精子存儲在其體內,使他們整個生命期都能夠讓卵子受精。蜂群藉著不斷的分群而增加,將繁殖和死亡都考慮在內,一個蜂群可能在一年後分成 17群(Masterson, 2007)。
    校訂者:: Mark L. Winston, Professor and Fellow, Morris J. Wosk Centre for Dialogue, Canada.
    編輯者: National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) & IUCN/SSC Invasive Species Specialist Group (ISSG)
    Updates on management information with support from the Overseas Territories Environmental Programme (OTEP) project XOT603, a joint project with the Cayman Islands Government - Department of Environment
    最後修改: Tuesday, 21 September 2010


ISSG Landcare Research NBII IUCN University of Auckland

Global Invasive Species Database 100 of the worst Donations home
Standard Search Standard Search Taxonomic Search   Index Search

   Apis mellifera scutellata (insect)   
Ecology Distribution Management
Info
Impact
Info
References
and Links
Contacts


      Apis mellifera scutellata (Photo: Scott Bauer, USDA ARS, www.insectimages.org) - Click for full size
    Taxonomic name: Apis mellifera scutellata (Lepeletier)
    Synonyms:
    Common names: Africanized honeybee (English), Brazilian bee (English), killer bee (English)
    Organism type: insect
    Warwick Kerr brought Apis mellifera scutellata from Africa to South America in 1957 to help revive the failing Brazilian beekeeping industry, which was using various European subspecies of Apis mellifera L., unsuitable for the South American environment. The queens and workers of several colonies were accidentally released, and these aggressive bees hybridized with local colonies. A. m. scutellata has been gradually spreading ever since, causing economic, social, and ecological problems, due to the more agressive behaviour shown by these hybrid bees.
    Description
    Compared to Apis mellifera, the most distinguishing trait of A. m. scutellata is their more defensive behavior around their nests and their propensity to sting in large numbers. A. m. scutellata are also slightly smaller, but this can only be ascertained with a microscope. A. mellifera can withstand colder temperatures than A. m. scutellata. While European bees generally only reproduce two or three times a year, Africanized bees can reproduce up to 17 times annually (Lantigua, 2008). The advent of new morphometric techniques which analyse worker forewings is starting to allow samples of Africanised (A. m. scutellata) and European (A. mellifera) bees to be distinguished quickly and precisely, while being relatively inexpensive (Francoy et al. 2008).
    Similar Species
    Apis mellifera

    More
    Occurs in:
    agricultural areas, natural forests, planted forests, ruderal/disturbed, urban areas
    Habitat description
    Apis mellifera scutellata is less selective in its habitat preferences than A. mellifera . A. m. scutellata can be found in tree hollows, rotted logs, and in many manmade structures, such as wood and rock piles. They are limited to tropical and subtropical habitats because they are accustomed to a wet and a dry season, as opposed to the hot and cold seasons associated with temperate regions.
    General impacts
    Apis mellifera scutellata, the Africanised Honey Bee (AHB), are aggressive bees that defend their nest from intruders up to 50 feet away by stinging in the hundreds and chasing intruders up to a mile. They have caused deaths of pets, livestock, and even people, giving them their "killer bee" nickname. People and other animals are usually killed only if they are unable to get away. Victims of A. m. scutellata attacks commonly receive ten times more stings than similar attacks from European bees, and bees respond to disturbances up to ten times faster than European bees (Ojar, 2002).

    It should be stressed here that their main impact is not by taking over colonies through killing queens, but rather through mating, resulting in inbred colonies. These inbred colonies have increased aggression, are less tolerant to winter temperatures, and abandon nests more frequently (Ojar, 2002). Hives of AHB are abandoned at a much higher rate than European Bees – abandonment rates of up to 10% have been recorded. AHB also invest less energy into the storing of honey then European bees, with more energy invested in rearing brood (GISP profile (word doc)). These are attributes which are not desirable within cultivated honeybee hives (Masterson, 2007).

    Beekeepers' business is threatened by the high labor costs of workers willing to harvest A. m. scutellata honey and frequently re-queen nests. It is also a concern that some ecosystems could be at risk because A. m. scutellata outcompetes native pollinators when they invade their territory.

    A. m. scutellata 's largest impacts are economic and ecological. They affect the beekeeping industry by competing with A. mellifera, causing them to produce less honey and taking over the A. mellifera nest by killing its queen and replacing it with their own. The AHB is also a less effective pollinator than the European Honey Bee. Increases in numbers of AHB could put the honey industry (worth $140 million dollars annually in the US) at risk, as well as cause a general reduction in pollination of field crops and orchards (estimates of value range from $10 billion to over $14 billion dollars annually in the US) (Ojar, 2002; Masterson, 2007). The ecological dominance of the AHB, coupled with their rapid rate of spread (200 miles per year) means the AHB has the potential to make many species of native bees extinct (Ojar, 2002).

    Public prejudices against bees and the beekeeping industry would be an unfortunate result of fear caused by media over-dramatisating an attack by the AHB. This may lead to calls to ban bee keeping in urban areas, which will cause empty suitable habitats for bees. The AHB will fill these voids, and establish to a greater extent, causing even more problems.

    Uses
    Apis mellifera scutellata provides pollination services in the tropics. Some farmers believe they are beneficial to their crops because they provide superior pollination to A. mellifera . The value of cultivated crops which are pollinated by honey bees in the US is estimated to be $10 billion annually apiary/honey (Arkansas State Plant Board n. d.).The health of bee colonies can be used as an indicator of “flowering plant productivity, ecosystem stability, and relative ecological health” (Ojar, 2002).

    Research has shown that African bees deter African elephants from damaging vegetation and trees near where hives are located. African bees have the potential to be used to protect both selected trees and selected area from elephant damage (Vollrath et al. 2002). Further research has shown that hearing played-back recorded sounds of disturbed wild African bees (Apis mellifera scutellata) caused a large majority of elephants to walk or run away from the source of the noise (King et al. 2007).

    Notes
    Unlike Apis mellifera , A. m. scutellata does not hoard honey over the winter. Instead they depend on colony mobility (absconding and swarming) to find new sources of food, water, or space if one or all run out.
    Geographical range
    Native range: Apis mellifera scutellata is native to eastern and southern Africa.
    Known introduced range: They were introduced to Brazil and spread throughout South America, Central America, and into Arizona, California, New Mexico, Nevada, and Texas.
    Introduction pathways to new locations
    Agriculture: Introduced to help the honey industry in Brazil as they were better adapted to South America.
    Natural dispersal:
    Management information
    To prevent Apis mellifera scutellata from interbreeding with commercially reared A. mellifera, the relevent area is flooded with a very high number of commercially reared A. mellifera drones, limiting the possibility of mating with A. m. scutellata . Frequent re-queening is also done to ensure A. mellifera queens are maintained (Ojar, 2002). Another strategy is to inject A. mellifera sperm into an A. m. scutellata queen, resulting in the production of less aggressive bees. Many countries try to destroy the bees with chemicals and traps, however, this strategy however is not very effective.

    Public education programs in areas where AHB is becoming a problem will allow the public to know how to report the location of a swarm to the relevant authorities for removal (Ojar, 2002). Bees can be easily immobilised and killed by wetting agents (surfactants), including dishwashing detergent, as well as nonfoaming fire control chemicals and foams (USDA-ARS, 2008). Bees are generally immediately immobilised, and killed within one minute.

    Nutrition
    Bees feed on nectar and pollen. The nectar is converted into honey and is the bee's principle source of carbohydrates, while pollen is the source of protein. Africanized bees often depend on their increased rate of colony mobility (swarming) as a response to seasonal fluctuations in food supply. European honeybees are better at hoarding vast amounts of honey and surviving long, cold winters (Kurzmann, undated).
    Reproduction
    The queen mates with a drone to create a fertilised egg, which becomes a female worker bee. The queen also produces unfertilised eggs, which become male drones. Eggs become queens if they are fed (when they are larvae) large quantities of an extremely nutritious creamy white liquid -royal jelly, a mix of hypopharyngeal and mandibular gland secretions. One queen can produce 1500 eggs a day. Swarming is more important than queen egg laying. Colonies reproduce by frequent swarming, and one colony can result in 17 colonies after a year when both reproduction and mortality are taken into account.
    Lifecycle stages
    The queen mates with male drones to create fertilized eggs, which become female worker bees. These fertilized eggs can become queens if they are fed as larvae (by hive worker bees) large quantities of an extremely nutritious creamy white liquid -royal jelly, a mix of hypopharyngeal and mandibular gland secretions. The queen also produces unfertilized eggs, which become reproductive male drones (Masterson, 2007).

    One queen can produce 1500 eggs a day. Swarming is more important than queen egg laying in population expansion. The actual mating takes place during swarming events, which have seasonal synchrony between colonies, thus increasing potential mates and reducing inbreeding. Queens have the ability to mate with multiple drones, and store the sperm internally, allowing them to fertilize eggs for their entire lifetime. Colonies reproduce by frequent swarming, and one colony can result in 17 colonies after a year when both reproduction and mortality are taken into account (Masterson, 2007).

    Reviewed by: Mark L. Winston, Professor and Fellow, Morris J. Wosk Centre for Dialogue, Canada.
    Compiled by: National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) & IUCN/SSC Invasive Species Specialist Group (ISSG)
    Updates on management information with support from the Overseas Territories Environmental Programme (OTEP) project XOT603, a joint project with the Cayman Islands Government - Department of Environment
    Last Modified: Tuesday, 21 September 2010


ISSG Landcare Research NBII IUCN University of Auckland