Global Invasive Species Database 100 of the worst Donations home
Standard Search Standard Search Taxonomic Search   Index Search

   Felis catus (哺乳動物)  English  français   
生態 分佈 管理 影響 參考資料 聯繫


      Felis catus on Chatham Island (Photo: Rex Williams, Chatham Island Taiko Trust) - Click for full size   Felis catus on Chatham Island, New Zealand (Photo: Rex Williams, Chatham Island Taiko Trust) - Click for full size   Felis catus on Chatham Island, New Zealand (Photo: Rex Williams, Chatham Island Taiko Trust) - Click for full size
    學名: Felis catus Linnaeus, 1758
    同種異名:
    俗名: cat, domestic cat (English), feral cat (English), Hauskatze (German), house cat (English), poti (Maori), pusiniveikau (Fiji)
    生物類型: 哺乳動物
    家貓約在三千年前即於東地中海區域被人類飼養。由於貓被珍視為寵物,自然而然地被人類運送至世界各地。值得注意的掠食者,貓威脅本土的鳥類與其他動物,尤其是在海島上,由於海島上本土種相對地與掠食者隔。
    物種描述
    貓一是小型動物,具備典型貓科的型態。野生種的貓最大體重為五公斤(但一般為一點五到三公斤),人工飼養的貓較重。人工飼養的貓顏色多樣,而野生種普遍的花色多為黑色、斑紋或龜甲狀,胸部與腹部呈白色。
    出現在:
    人造林, 天然林, 市區, 河岸區, 沼澤地, 沿岸地區, 矮叢/灌木, 範圍 /草原, 苔原, 農業區, 雜草 /受干擾
    棲息地描述
    野貓能適應多種棲地類型與環境。在澳洲大陸上,他們棲息於東部、西部與北部的森林與樹林。在日本島,野貓已經廣泛地出現在各種不同類型棲息,包括原始森林。(Kawakami 與 Higuchi 2002). 在 Macquarie 島 (南南極澳洲島嶼),大多數貓生活於牧草地或草叢,表現出能夠適應困難的地形。 在地中海沿岸的棲息地,一項針對野貓對棲息地利用和飲食的研究,加州中部的保留區或許可以反映其他相同氣候地區的情況。保留區的貓似乎強烈地偏愛留河岸的棲息地。 霍爾和他的同事(2000年)表市,這個棲息地提供了充足的遮蔽,或許也提供多種獵物,尤其是鳥類。 貓覓食的研究主要集中在田野和一年生草地附近,較少在沿岸棲息地上的研究。(in Brickner 2003)
    一般影響
    野貓的最明顯衝擊是他們對原生獵物族群的獵食衝擊; 這已導致當地許多物種可能減少或滅絕(Dickman 1996)。然而,很難找到證據證明貓造成獵物族群下降,因為其他食肉動物,也可能參與其中(Dickman 1996)。一個例外,一項桑德斯(1991)的研究顯示,在西澳大利亞,經過11個繁殖季節的研究發現,貓獵殺 7% 紅色美冠鸚鵡(Calyptorhynchus magnificus)的雛鳥。 在澳洲,幾次的引入計劃均告失敗,歸因於被野貓獵食的壓力,狐狸也經參與其中。 舉例來說,金大鼠( Isoodon auratus)與( Bettongia lesueur)的再引入西澳大利的計畫,都被野貓獵食所阻礙。 大體上,貓的掠食衝擊主要地影響鳥與小型到中型的哺乳動物(Dickman 1996)。 全球的瀕臨絕種動物是受到威脅的由於貓的存在, 包括黑色淤沙(請參閱Himantopus novaezelandiae在IUCN紅皮書中 )(紐西蘭), 琉球啄木鳥(請參閱Sapheopipo noguchii在 IUCN 紅皮書 )(日本)與鱷魚島地面鬣蜥蜴(請參閱Cyclura lewisi在 IUCN 紅皮書 ), 只是列出一些許多受影響物種。

    在引入貓後,島嶼的動物相改變,可以提供令人信服的證據說明他們的掠食影響。 貓曾被從澳洲引進海岸的 40個島; 其中七個島在紐西蘭外海,數十個島在太平洋的其他地方。 野貓至少與六種紐西蘭特有鳥種的族群下降有關,包括史蒂芬島鷦鷯,黑海鷗( Puffinus griseus)與鴞鸚鵡( Strigops habroptilus), 以及 70個島的當地族群.(King 1984, in Dickman 1996) 移除貓往往導致增加獵物的族群大小。舉例來說,紐西蘭Little Barrier島上的貓移除後, stitchbird( Notiomystis cincta)從少於500隻增加到3000隻,只花數年的時間。

    地理分佈
    野貓為3種野生貓科動物,發現在整個歐洲大陸,亞洲西南部,與非洲的稀樹草原地區。這些是非洲野貓(Felis silvestris lybica)、歐洲野貓( F. silvestris silvestris)與亞洲野貓( F. silvestris ornata)。非洲野貓在整個非洲和阿拉伯半島找到合適的棲息地。 歐洲野貓被發現在整個歐洲和西方,俄羅斯和斯堪的納維亞國家。亞洲野貓是在中東,俄羅斯南部,西部的中國和印度西部。家貓( F. catus)被認為是祖先來自非洲的野生貓科動物,幾乎在世界各地都被發現與人類一起生活。
    管理資訊
    貓在西元前 2000 年(Serpell 1988, 在 Colemanet al.1997, 在 Brickner 2003)左右第一個被在埃及養馴而且在西元 300 年之前帶給英國藉由了羅馬人。歐洲殖民者在全球各地引入他們。(Coleman et al.1997, 在 Brickner 2003) 由於貓在我們的社會中時常被當作寵物,當他們已經成為本土野生生物的威脅時,就產生如何處理他們的道德困境。 Brickner(2003)指出,動物權利組織譴責,單在英國,九百萬隻貓殺死二億七千五百萬隻動物。(Woods et al. in press) 此物種的管理顯然地有兩種相當不同的情形,依據貓的狀態而定:一是被馴養的家庭的寵物,另一個是已經變野生,沒有主人餵養保護。

    當一隻貓是寵物,有很多方法幫助避免帶給野生生物的危害。 Brickner(2003)建議晚上把貓關在室內、綁一個鈴、幫貓結紮以及給小貓玩具。 然而,一些調查結果顯示,並不確定這些行動是否有正面的結果。 Barrette(1998)發現幫貓綁一個鈴,對捕捉獵物數量,沒有顯著的影響, 然而 Ruxton et al.(2002)發現幫貓綁一個鈴,減少獵物遞送率大約 50% 。(在 Brickner 2003) 森林, 麥當勞與哈利斯(2003)發現,被貓帶回家的鳥類與爬蟲類數目,在吃鳥的家庭中顯著地比較低。 當貓被綁上鈴,或者晚上把貓關在室內時,每隻貓帶回的哺乳動物的數目比較低,然而,當晚上把貓關在室內時時,被貓帶回家的爬蟲類數目較多。 此結果產生一個主觀的選擇,究竟保護爬蟲類與保護哺乳動物哪一個比較重要。 顯然地,如果被捕捉的哺乳動物是被引入種,例如老鼠,這又產生另一個困境。

    在第二個情形,當一隻貓是野生的並且威脅野生生物,使用較嚴厲的方法控制貓似乎合乎情理。 在 1992 年,澳洲國會通過瀕臨絕種動物保護行動法案,使國家有義務提供一個威脅緩和計劃(TAP),針對每個表列的脅迫程序,包括野生的貓(Brickner 2003). 野生貓TAP的關鍵目的是:根除島上的野貓,避免威脅易受傷害的本土動物; 阻止野貓入侵新島嶼,避免可能對本土社群的威脅; 促使受到野貓威脅的物種恢復生機:改善貓控制方法的效力與人性化,與增加野生貓對本土動物衝擊的理解。 為了吸引較多的野貓被陷捕與餌誘,視覺餌(例如羽毛與生棉)的使用與吸引物(例如鮪魚油)現在正在被測試。 野貓對本土野生生物的衝擊正在澳洲的各種不同地區被研究為了它量化的資料(Brickner 2003).

    外僑-L 的 的在陷擾上的附註(吉兒調音(太平洋的侵入學問網路)pers.comm。, 2008 年九月 20 日; Reese 商標腓力 pers.comm。, 2008 年九月 19 日).

    營養
    雄性與雌性野貓領域重疊(Say and Pontier 2004)。在夏威夷森林,雄野貓的平均領域是 5.74 平方公里,雌野貓 2.23 平方公里。(Smuckeret al.2000) 澳洲的研究顯示家貓的平均領域 7-28 公頃,野貓則廣達 249.7 公頃; 紐西蘭的研究顯示貓的平均領域在 75 公頃與 985 公頃之間。獵物的多寡是決定野貓領域的主要因素。(Edwards et al. 2001; Barratt 1997) 貓的活動時間在破曉與薄暮有兩個高峰,(Konecny 1987)。
    野生貓對島的飲食可能重要地在大陸上野生貓對那改變, 藉由貓時常利用替代食物來源。 舉例來說,在紐西蘭,面積僅28 公頃的 Herekopare 島上,沒有引入或本土的哺乳動物。 在1970 年野貓除去之前,野貓都吃仙鋸鸌(在受威脅品種 的 IUCN 警戒名單見到 Pachyptila turtur)與其它的海鳥,偶而也吃陸地上的鳥。(費茲傑羅與 Veitch 1985, 在 Dickman 1996) 沙螽(直翅目原生昆蟲)也似乎是貓重要的食物; 有兩隻貓的胃內含物,包含超過 100隻昆蟲。同樣地,在加拉巴哥群島中,鳥是野生貓飲食的一個重要成份,有時也吃體型大小與自己相近鳥, 例如軍艦鳥(Fregataspp.)、鵜鶘( Pelecanusspp.)與不能飛的水老鴉( Phalacrocoraxspp.).(Konecny 1987, 在 Dickman 1996) 在亞達伯拉環礁、塞錫爾群島上,綠海龜小海龜(在受威脅品種 的 IUCN 警戒名單見到 Chelonia mydas)是野貓季節性的重要食物。(Seabrook, 1990) 在聖誕島,引入的玄鼠(Rattus rattus)幾乎是野貓食物重量的三分之一,然而, 21% 的食物是大型蝙蝠(請參閱Pteropus melanotus在 IUCN 紅皮書 )與 28% 的帝王的鴿子(請參閱Ducula whartoni在 IUCN 紅皮書 ).(Tidemann et al.1994, in Dickman 1996)
    按這裡參閱 澳洲野生貓的主要獵物.(Dickman 1996)
    繁殖
    家貓的生育密集,也許可以歸因於雌貓的季節性發情周期,每隻母貓會發情好幾次,直到懷孕或到發情周期結束。(Gunther 與 Terkel 2002, 在 Brickner 2003) 母貓達到生殖成熟約需 7-12個月,一年可發情多達5次。(Ogan 與 Jurek 1997, 在 Brickner 2003) 妊娠時期持續 63-65 天(Nowak 1991, 在 Brickner 2003),而且平均每胎四 - 六隻小貓。(O'Donnell 2001, 在 Brickner 2003) 每年的任何月份,只要食物與棲息地充份,貓都能繁殖。成熟母貓,每年可以產三胎。(Fitzwater 1994, 在 Brickner 2003)
    生命階段
    妊娠:65 天。小兒:35-40 天。性成熟:9個月。
    這個物種被列為世界百大入侵種
    編輯者: IUCN/SSC Invasive Species Specialist Group (ISSG)
    Updates with support from the Overseas Territories Environmental Programme (OTEP) project XOT603, a joint project with the Cayman Islands Government - Department of Environment
    最後修改: Wednesday, 15 September 2010


ISSG Landcare Research NBII IUCN University of Auckland

Global Invasive Species Database 100 of the worst Donations home
Standard Search Standard Search Taxonomic Search   Index Search

   Felis catus (mammal)  français     
Ecology Distribution Management
Info
Impact
Info
References
and Links
Contacts


      Felis catus on Chatham Island (Photo: Rex Williams, Chatham Island Taiko Trust) - Click for full size   Felis catus on Chatham Island, New Zealand (Photo: Rex Williams, Chatham Island Taiko Trust) - Click for full size   Felis catus on Chatham Island, New Zealand (Photo: Rex Williams, Chatham Island Taiko Trust) - Click for full size
    Taxonomic name: Felis catus Linnaeus, 1758
    Synonyms:
    Common names: cat, domestic cat (English), feral cat (English), Hauskatze (German), house cat (English), poti (Maori), pusiniveikau (Fiji)
    Organism type: mammal
    Felis catus was domesticated in the eastern Mediterranean c. 3000 years ago. Considering the extent to which cats are valued as pets, it is not surprising that they have since been translocated by humans to almost all parts of the world. Notable predators, cats threaten native birdlife and other fauna, especially on islands where native species have evolved in relative isolation from predators.
    Description
    Felis catus is a small animal in the wild (up to 5kg, but more commonly 1.5 -3.0kg) but may be considerably heavier when domesticated. Colour is extremely variable in domesticated varieties and feral cats commonly revert to black, tabby or tortoiseshell with varying extents of white starting from the belly and breast.
    Occurs in:
    agricultural areas, coastland, natural forests, planted forests, range/grasslands, riparian zones, ruderal/disturbed, scrub/shrublands, tundra, urban areas, wetlands
    Habitat description
    Feral cats adapt to a variety of habitat types and circumstances. On the Australian continent they inhabit forests and woodland habitats in eastern, western and northern parts of the country (Dickman 1996). On Hahajima Island, Japan, feral cats have been observed widely in various kinds of habitats, including primary forests (Kawakami and Higuchi 2002). On Macquarie Island, (a sub-Antarctic Australian island) most cats live in herb-field or tussock grassland (Brothers Skira and Copson 1985), showing an ability to adapt to difficult terrain. A study of the habitat use and diet of feral cats in a Mediterranean habitat in a riparian reserve in central California (Hall et al. 2000, in Brickner 2003) can probably reflect on the situation in other areas with similar climatic areas. Cats in the reserve seemed to strongly prefer staying in riparian habitat. Hall and collegues (2000) suggest that this habitat provides ample cover and perhaps a variety of prey, especially birds. Cats in the study foraged mostly in the adjacent fields and annual grasslands and, to a lesser extent, in the riparian habitat (in Brickner 2003).
    General impacts
    The most obvious impact of feral cats is the predatory impact they exert on native prey populations; this has resulted in the probable local or regional decline or extinction of many species (Dickman 1996). However, unambiguous evidence of cats causing a decline in a prey species is difficult to find as other factors, such as other predator species, may also be involved in the decline (Dickman 1996). One exception to this is a study by Saunders (1991) which showed that cats killed 7% of nestlings of red-tailed cockatoos (Calyptorhynchus magnificus) over 11 breeding seasons in Western Australia. Several reintroduction programmes in Australia have failed, due to the predation pressure exerted by feral cats, often in conjunction with foxes. For example, the success of the reintroductions of the golden bandicoot (Isoodon auratus) and the burrowing bettong (Bettongia lesueur) in the Gibson Desert, Western Australia was hindered primarily by feral cat predation. In general, the predatory impact of cats primarily affects birds and small to medium-sized mammals (Dickman 1996). Endangered species around the world are threatened by the presence of cats, including the black stilt (see Himantopus novaezelandiae in the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species) (New Zealand), the Okinawa woodpecker (see Sapheopipo noguchii in IUCN Red List of Threatened Species) (Japan) and the Cayman Island ground iguana (see Cyclura lewisi in IUCN Red List of Threatened Species), to list just some of the many species effected.

    Changes in island fauna after the introduction of cats can provide compelling evidence of their predatory impact. Cats have been introduced to 40 islands off the coast of Australia; seven off the coast of New Zealand and several dozen islands elsewhere in the Pacific (Dickman 1992a, Veitch 1985, King 1973 1984, in Dickman 1996). Feral cats have been implicated in the decline of at least six species of island endemic birds in New Zealand, including the Stephens Island wren, the sooty shearwater (Puffinus griseus) and the kakapo (Strigops habroptilus), as well as 70 local populations of insular birds (King 1984, in Dickman 1996). The elimination of cats often leads to an increase in the population size of prey species. For example, following removal of cats from Little Barrier Island, New Zealand, the stitchbird (Notiomystis cincta) increased from less than 500 individuals to 3000 individuals in just a few years (Griffin et al. 1988, in Dickman 1996).

    Geographical range
    Feral cats are not to be confused with the three species of wild cats found throughout continental Europe, southwestern Asia, and the savannah regions of Africa. These are the African wild cats (Felis silvestris lybica), European wild cats (F. silvestris silvestris) and Asiatic wild cats (F. silvestris ornata). African wild cats are found in appropriate habitat throughout Africa and the Arabian Peninsula. European wild cats are found throughout Europe and western Russia and Scandinavian countries. Asiatic wildcats are found in the Middle East, southern Russia, western China and western India. Domestic cats (F. catus) are thought to be descended from African wild cats and are found virtually worldwide in association with humans (IUCN Cat Specialist Group 1996a, IUCN Cat Specialist Group 1996b, IUCN Cat Specialist Group 1996c, in University of Michigan 2006).
    Introduction pathways to new locations
    Ship: Many ships of the 18th and 19th centuries were infested with rats and so carried cats to control them.
    Transportation of domesticated animals: Taken by humans as pets then left behind or the young dispersed.


    Local dispersal methods
    Natural dispersal (local):
    Management information
    Cats were first domesticated in Egypt around 2000 BC (Serpell 1988, in Coleman et al. 1997, in Brickner 2003) and brought to Britain by 300AD by the Romans. European colonists introduced them around the globe (Coleman et al. 1997, in Brickner 2003). As cats are often revered as pets in our society this raises the moral dilemma of how to handle them when they have become a threat to native wildlife. Brickner (2003) suggests that animal rights organisations that condemn cat control via killing are over-looking the approximately 275 million animals killed by 9 million cats in Britain alone (Woods et al. in press). Obviously there are two quite different situations for management of the species, depending on the status of the cat: one is where a cat is a domesticated household pet and the other is when a cat has gone wild or feral and has no owner to protect and feed it.

    When a cat is a pet, there are a number of ways in which to help prevent damage caused to wildlife. Brickner (2003) suggests keeping a cat in at night, fitting it with a bell, neutering the animal when it is young and giving it toys. However, the divided results of several investigations shows that the positive outcome of such actions is uncertain. Barrette (1998) found that fitting cats with bells has no significant effect on the amount of prey caught, whereas Ruxton et al. (2002) found that equipping cats with bells reduced prey delivery rates by about 50% (in Brickner 2003). Woods, McDonald and Harris (2003) found that the number of birds and herpetofauna brought home by cats was significantly lower in households that feed birds (but the number of actual different types of bird species killed was greater in households that feed birds). The number of mammals brought home per cat was lower when cats were equipped with bells or kept indoors at night, however, the number of herpetofauna brought home was greater when cats were kept in at night. The outcome of this is that there appears to be a subjective choice to be made as to whether it is more important to protect herpetofauna or mammals. Obviously, if the mammals being caught are introduced species, such as rats and mice, this raises another dilemma.

    In the second situation, when a cat is feral and threatening wildlife, a more severe means of controlling cats appears justified. In 1992 the Australian Parliament passed the Endangered Species Protection Act 1992, which obligates the commonwealth to provide a Threat Abatement Plan (TAP) for each listed threatening process, including one for feral cats (Brickner 2003). The key objectives of the feral cat TAP are: eradicate feral cats from islands where they threaten vulnerable native animals; prevent feral cats from occupying new islands where they may be a threat to native communities; promote the recovery of species threatened by feral cats; improve the effectiveness and humaneness of cat control methods and improve the understanding of the impacts of feral cats on native animals. The use of visual lures (such as feathers and cotton wool) and attractants (such as tuna oil) are currently being tested in an effort to attract greater numbers of feral cats to traps and baits. The impact of feral cats on native wildlife is being studied in various parts of Australia in order to have it quantified (Brickner 2003).

    Predation by feral cats was listed as a Key Threatening Process under the Federal Endangered Species Protection Act 1992. A Threat Abatement Plan for Predation by Feral Cats was produced in 1999 and amended in 2008 to promote the recovery of vulnerable and endangered native species and threatened ecological communities (Environment Australia 1999 and DEWHA 2008). A recently published review (Denny and Dickman (2010) assesses the efficacy of the methods used to estimate relative abundance of cats; describes currently used cat control methodologies; and discusses possible future directions for the control of cats in Australia. It also includes details of the current legislative framework that exists for cat control in Australia; describes the ecology of feral and stray cats exploiting various habitats. Please follow this link to view Denny E. A & C. R. Dickman 2010. Review of cat ecology and management strategies in Australia

    Nutrition
    Male and female feral cat home ranges overlap (Say and Pontier 2004). The mean home range for feral cats in Hawaiian forests was 5.74km2 for males and 2.23km2 for females (Smucker et al. 2000). Australian studies have given mean home ranges of 7 to 28 hectares for domestic cats and up to 249.7 hectares for feral cats; while a New Zealand study posted home ranges of between 75 hectares and 985 hectares. Prey availability is a primary factor in determining home range size for feral cats (Edwards et al. 2001; Barratt 1997). Cat activity is bimodal, with peaks near dawn and dusk (Konecny 1987).

    The diet of feral cats on islands may vary significantly to that of feral cats on the mainland, with cats often taking advantage of alternative food sources. On the tiny 28 hectare Herekopare Island, New Zealand, for example, there are no introduced or native species of mammals. Prior to elimination of feral cats there in 1970, fairy prion (see Pachyptila turtur in IUCN Red List of Threatened Species) comprised the bulk of the diet with other sea birds and occasional land birds making up most of the remainder (Fitzgerald and Veitch 1985, in Dickman 1996). The weta (a native insect in the order Orthoptera) also appeared to be important to individual cats; two cats' stomachs were found to contain over 100 insects each. Similarly, in the Galapagos Islands, birds are an important component of the feral cat's diet, with cats sometimes taking birds of similar mass to themselves, such as frigate birds (Fregata spp.), pelicans (Pelecanus spp.) and flightless cormorants (Phalacrocorax spp.) (Konecny 1987, in Dickman 1996). On Aldabra Atoll, Seychelles, hatchlings of the green turtle (see Chelonia mydas in IUCN Red List of Threatened Species) are seasonally predominant in the diet of feral cats (Seabrook, 1989). On Christmas Island, the introduced black rat (Rattus rattus) comprises almost one third of the diet of feral cats by weight, however, 21% of the diet is comprised of the large flying-fox (see Pteropus melanotus in IUCN Red List of Threatened Species) and 28% of the imperial pigeon (see Ducula whartoni in IUCN Red List of Threatened Species) (Tidemann et al. 1994, in Dickman 1996).
    Click here to see Major prey of feral cats in Australia (source: Dickman 1996).

    Reproduction
    Domestic cats are intensive breeders, maybe due to the seasonal estrous cycle of the females, during which each female comes into heat several times until pregnancy or end of cycle (Gunther and Terkel 2002, in Brickner 2003). A female cat reaches reproductive maturity between 7 to 12 months of age can be in estrous as many as five times a year (Ogan and Jurek 1997, in Brickner 2003). The gestation period lasts 63 to 65 days (Nowak 1991, in Brickner 2003) and the average litter is four to six kittens (O’Donnell 2001, in Brickner 2003). Cats can reproduce any month of the year, where food and habitat is sufficient. An adult female may produce three litters per year (Fitzwater 1994, in Brickner 2003).
    Lifecycle stages
    Gestation: 65 days. Weaning: 35-40 days. Sexual maturity: 9 months.
    This species has been nominated as among 100 of the "World's Worst" invaders
    Compiled by: IUCN/SSC Invasive Species Specialist Group (ISSG)
    Updates with support from the Overseas Territories Environmental Programme (OTEP) project XOT603, a joint project with the Cayman Islands Government - Department of Environment
    Last Modified: Wednesday, 15 September 2010


ISSG Landcare Research NBII IUCN University of Auckland